Staff | Center Affiliates | Graduate Students

Staff

Fuqing Zhang

Director

Professor of Meteorology
Joint Appointment with the Department of Statistics

627A Walker Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 865-0470
Email: fzhang@psu.edu

Steven Greybush

Associate Director

Assistant Professor of Meteorology
Fellow of the Institute for CyberScience

618 Walker Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814)867-4926
Email: sjg213@psu.edu

John Harlim

Associate Director

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Meteorology

214 McAllister Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814)863-9024
Email: jharlim@psu.edu

Le Bao

Associate Director

Assistant Professor of Statistics

514C Wartick Lab
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 865-9443
Email: lebao@psu.edu

Alfonso Mejia

Associate Director

Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Email: amejia@engr.psu.edu

Xingchao Chen

Associate Director

Phone: (814) 441-6383
Email: xzc55@psu.edu

Dandan Tao

Center assistant
office/meeting/webpage support and coordination

Phone: (814)954-2359
Email: taodandan@psu.edu

Center Affiliates (list by departments)

(* denotes science steering committee membership)

Richard Alley

Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences

Phone: (814)863-1700
Email: rba6@psu.edu

Elizabeth Boyer

Associate Professor of Ecosystem Science and Management

Phone: (814)865-8830
Email: ewb100@psu.edu

William H. Brune

Distinguished Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)865-3286
Email: whb2@psu.edu

*Guido Cervone

Associate Professor of Geography

Phone: (814)863-0179
Email: cervone@psu.edu

*Eugene E. Clothiaux

Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)865-2915
Email: eec3@psu.edu

*Kenneth J. Davis

Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-8601
Email: kjd10@psu.edu

Qiang Du

Verne M. Willaman Professor of Mathematics

Phone: (814)865-3674
Email: dqu@psu.edu

*Christopher J. Duffy

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Phone: (814)863-4384
Email: cxd11@psu.edu

David Eissenstat

Professor of Woody Plant Physiology

Phone: (814)863-3371
Email: dme9@psu.edu

Chris E. Forest

Associate Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)865-0710
Email: ceforest@psu.edu

Jose D. Fuentes

Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-1585
Email: jdfuentes@psu.edu

Murali Haran

Associate Professor of Statistics

Phone: (814)865-8126
Email: mharan@stat.psu.edu

Jerry Y. Harrington

Associate Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-1584
Email: jyh10@psu.edu

Amy K. Huff

Research Associate

Phone: (814)865-2951
Email: akh157@psu.edu

Tim Kane

Professor of Electrical Engineering

Phone: (814)863-8727
Email: tjk7@psu.edu

James F. Kasting

Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences

Phone: (814)865-3207
Email: kasting@essc.psu.edu

Klaus Keller

Professor of Geosciences

Phone: (814)865-6718
Email: kzk10@psu.edu

Matthew R. Kumjian

Assistant Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-1581
Email: kumjian@psu.edu

*Jia Li

Professor of Statistics
Professor of CSE (by courtesy)

Phone: (814)863-3074
Email: jiali@psu.edu

Li Li

Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Phone: (814)867-0151
Email: lili@engr.psu.edu

Qunhua Li

Assistant Professor of Statistics

Phone: (814)865-9468
Email: qunhua.li@psu.edu

Runze Li

Distinguished Professor of Statistics

Phone: (814)865-1555
Email: rzli@psu.edu

Dennis K. J. Lin

Distinguished Professor of Statistics and Supply Chain

Phone: (814)865-0377
Email: dkl5@psu.edu

Xiaofeng Liu

Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Phone: (814)863-2940
Email: xliu@engr.psu.edu

Alan MacEachren

Professor of Geography

Phone: (814)865-7491
Email: maceachren@psu.edu

Michael E. Mann

Distinguished Professor of Meteorology
Joint Appointment with the Department of Geosciences

Phone: (814)863-4075
Email: mann@psu.edu

Paul Markowski

Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)865-9736
Email: pmarkowski@psu.edu

Yvette Richardson

Associate Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-0791
Email: yrichardson@psu.edu

Ben Shaby

Assistant Professor of Statistics

Email: bshaby@psu.edu

Chaopeng Shen

Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering

Phone: (814)863-5844
Email: cshen@engr.psu.edu

Erica Smithwick

Associate Professor of Ecology

Phone: (814)865-6693
Email: smithwick@psu.edu

David R. Stauffer

Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-3932
Email: drs8@psu.edu

David J. Stensrud

Department Head and Professor of Meteorology

Phone: (814)863-7714
Email: david.stensrud@psu.edu

Davit W. Titley

Professor of Practice, Department of Meteorology

Phone: (814)867-4750
Email: dwt12@psu.edu

Johannes Verlinde

Professor of Meteorology
Associate Head, Graduate Program in Meteorology

Email: jxv7@psu.edu

James Z. Wang

Professor of IST

Email: jwang@ist.psu.edu

Christelle Wauthier

Assistant Professor of Geosciences

Phone: (814)863-6649
Email: cuw25@psu.edu

Jinchao Xu

Francis R. and Helen M. Pentz Professor of Science

Phone: (814)865-1110
Email: xu@math.psu.edu

Tao Yao

Associate Professor of IME

Phone: (814)865-8040
Email: taoyao@psu.edu

John Yen

Professor of IST

Phone: (814)865-6174
Email: jyen@ist.psu.edu

*Xiaolong (Luke) Zhang

Associate Professor of IST

Phone: (814)863-9462
Email: lzhang@ist.psu.edu

Bu Zhong

Associate Professor of Communications

Phone: (814)865-1023
Email: bxz11@psu.edu

*Ludmil Zikatanov

Professor of Mathematics

Email: ltz@math.psu.edu

Graduate Students

Hans Chen
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Fuqing Zhang)

• Synoptic-scale atmospheric dynamics and teleconnection patterns
• Interactions between large-scale circulation and regional climate
• The connection between the Arctic climate system and mid-latitude weather patterns
• Data assimilation, ensemble techniques, and predictability

Masashi Minamide
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Fuqing Zhang)

• Tropical cyclones
• Data Assimilation

Robert Nystrom
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Fuqing Zhang)

• Tropical cyclones, data assimilation and predictability

Seth Saslo
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Steven Greybush)

• Data Assimilation

Scott Sieron
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Fuqing Zhang)

• Community Radiative Transfer Model (CRTM) coupling with WRF microphysics schemes
• Data assimilation of microwave observations for tropical cyclones

Yue (Michael) Ying
Ph.D. Graduate Student
(Advisor: Dr. Fuqing Zhang)

• Numerical modeling of atmospheric phenomena at a variety of scales
• Dynamics and predictability of multiscale weather systems, such as tropical cyclones and equatorial waves
• Data assimilation techniques and challenges for various observing networks, especially the treatement for sampling errors and nonlinearity